How to convert APL Ration card to AAY Ration card?

Spread the love

Types of Ration Card in Gujarat

A Ration card is an official document issued by the respective state governments. Ration card enables eligible households to buy food grains at subsidized rates under the National Food Security Act (NFSA). The document serves as a common form of identification for many individuals.

These cards are issued after the state governments identify eligible households for purchasing food grains at subsidized rates from the Public Distribution System.

Table of Contents

5 Different Types of Ration Cards in Gujarat

  1. Priority Household (PHH) ration card – This card is issued to those households which meet the eligibility criteria set by the state governments. Every household which has a priority ration card is entitled to 5 kilograms of food grains per member every month.
  2. Antyodaya (AAY) ration card – The Antyodaya ration card is issued to those households which fall under the ‘poorest of poor’ category. Those who have this card, are entitled to 35 kilograms of food grain every month.
  3. APL (Above Poverty line) ration card – The APL ration card was issued to households living above the poverty line.
  4. BPL (Below Poverty line) ration card – The BPL ration was for those households living before the poverty line.
  5. AAY (Antyodaya) ration card – The AAY which is still in place was issued to poorest of poor households.

It must be noted here, APL, BPL, and AAY cards were in use before the National Food Security Act was enacted in the country.

See also  PM Vishwakarma Yojana | પ્રધાનમંત્રી વિશ્વકર્મા યોજના

Under NFSA, two types of ration cards are issued to eligible households. These cards are issued after the state governments identify eligible households for purchasing food grains at subsidized rates from the Public Distribution System.

Priority Household (PHH) ration card

Any family with a priority ration card will get five kilograms of foodgrains per person per month at a subsidized price. They get Rs.3 per kg of rice, Rs.2 per kg of wheat, and Rs.1 per kg of coarse grains. Prices are fixed by the central bank and revised from time to time.

The eligibility criteria of the priority ration card is calculated by the government through inclusion and exclusion guidelines. The guidelines are listed below:

Inclusion criteria

  • Any transgender person
  • A person having disability of more than 40 percent
  • All households belonging to primitive tribal groups
  • Households having no shelter
  • Households having a widow pension holder
  • Household with destitute living on alms.

Exclusion criteria

  • Any household which has a pucca roof with at least three rooms with pucca walls
  • Households who pay income tax or professional tax.
  • Household having any member who earns more than Rs.10,000 in a month (rural area) and Rs.15,000 (urban area).
  • Households having a regular employee – gazetted or non-gazetted of Central Government, State Government, Public Sector Undertakings, Government aided autonomous bodies and local bodies.
  • Households which has domestic electric connection with a load of 2 KW or more and consumes an average of 300 units of energy (KWH) every month.
  • Households which have enterprises registered with the Government for manufacturing and services.
  • Any household which owns a motorized a four-wheeler or a heavy vehicle or a trawler or two or more motorboats
  • Households which owns mechanized agricultural equipment like tractors, harvesters.

રેશનકાર્ડને લગતા જુદાં-જુદાં ફોર્મ ડાઉનલોડ કરવા અહીં ક્લિક કરો.

Antyodaya (AAY) Ration card

The households which are issued the Antyodaya ration card are entitled to 35 kilograms of food grain. Rice and wheat are issued at the scale of 20 and 15 kg respectively. The rates charged for a kilogram is Rs.3 and Rs.2 respectively.

See also  કોરોનાથી અવસાન પામેલ વ્યક્તિના પરિવારને 50000ની સહાય

To avail the Antyodaya (AAY) ration card, you need to fulfill the following criteria:

  • Have no stable income
  • Single men and women above the age of 65 years
  • Rickshaw pullers, collies, daily labourers

The government under the scheme emphasizes on the groups listed below:

  • All primitive tribal households
  • Marginal farmers
  • Agricultural labourers who don’t own any land
  • Disabled persons, widows, terminally ill persons, persons aged above 60 years or those households headed by such persons and single men or women with no family/societal support
  • Persons who earn their livelihood on a daily basis by working in informal sectors.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *